how many kings step down from their thrones?

Follow the star to a place unexpected
Would you believe, after all we’ve projected,
A child in a manger?
Lowly and small, the weakest of all
Unlikeliest hero, wrapped in his mother’s shawl –
Just a child –
Is this who we’ve waited for? ’cause…

How many kings step down from their thrones?
How many lords have abandoned their homes?
How many greats have become the least for me?
And how many gods have poured out their hearts
To romance a world that is torn all apart
How many fathers gave up their sons for me?

Bringing our gifts for the newborn Savior
All that we have, whether costly or meek
Because we believe.
Gold for his honor, and frankincense for his pleasure
And myrrh for the cross he will suffer
Do you believe?
Is this who we’ve waited for?

All for me…
All for you…

Everytime I hear this song, I am driven back to the passion I have for my Savior Jesus Christ.  It reminds me of all the other religions and gods of this world that people worship.  We all think that the god we worship is the right one.  Right?  I know for a fact my God is true and real and alive.  But so do those who practice in other religions.  This song makes me realize how great our God really is.

Did your god step down from his throne?

Did your god abandon his home?

Did your god become the least for you?  How many religions can answer this question with a yes?

Did your god pour out his heart to romance this world that is torn apart?

Did your god give up his only son?

I know mine did.  And because of that, I will praise His name forever and ever.

One thought on “how many kings step down from their thrones?

Leave a Reply

