Haiti: A letter to my Supporters

Dear Friends and Family

I write to you today for one specific purpose.  I need your support in this next journey of my life and I cannot do it without you.

Back in October, I attended Candidate Week for Africa Inland Mission.  It was my intention to become a full-term missionary with them.  After making some great friends and learning more about AIM, unexpectedly I was asked to wait and do some additional training.  Because the Lord said not yet, it was a hard answer to accept.  After all, I had been planning to go with AIM right after I graduated college last year and now what was I supposed to do?

Am I still headed to Namibia, Africa?  Yes!  My heart is still very much focused on the calling to serve there.  I have been delayed since October, but am expecting to become appointed as a full-term missionary with AIM in the next two months.  My expected departure date will be in 2013.

In the mean time, I have been working as a nanny for two children, ages 1 and 3.  I am also teaching 1st and 2nd grade Sunday School.  The love and experience I have gained for these children has prepared me that much more for children’s ministry in the future.  I’m so thankful for this experience– the joys and challenges.

In mid-April my friend, Hannah, shared an opportunity with me.  A friend of hers, Sarah, resides in Port-au-Prince, Haiti with her husband and children’s ministry called Living Water Haiti Ministries.  It is focused on caring for orphans who need the sweet love of parents but more so of Jesus.  Yves and Sarah started this orphanage just back in the fall of 2011.  At this time they have 7 children and a couple staff.  As this door has widely-opened for me, I have chosen to take a step of faith and walk through it.  I am bursting with joy at the thought of ministering to these sweet children and allowing the Lord to shape me even more in preparation for my future with AIM long-term.  Diving into a new culture with completely new people is quite overwhelming, but I cannot think of a better way to spend my life serving Jesus Christ in this way.  I plan to head to Haiti in early June and return in August or September as a short-term missionary.

Living Water Haiti Ministries has a great need for an Activities Coordinator to plan and focus on activities and crafts for the children.  I nearly jumped at this opportunity because it is so much like me!  She also has other needs such as training staff in childcare, ministering to neighbor kids, etc.  If you would like to learn more about this orphanage run by Yves and Sarah Dorismar visit http://livingwaterhaiti.weebly.com.

I humbly ask you to be a part of this journey with me.  Prayerfully consider how you could be a part of it.  If you feel led to give financially (approximately $400/month), contact me.  I will continue to update this blog with news on the field.

In His glory alone,

Amanda Larsen

Leave a Reply

